Ten: Concerning the nature of hobbies

Originally Posted 8th February 2011

Woo! we are into double digits, as they say. I have mentioned that this might be becoming an obsession, well this is not strictly true I am just finding it an interesting diversion as I have enjoyed writing things in the past but it always seemed a little pointless to write what no one would read. This way I can at least say it is out there for everyone to see, whether they read it or not is up to them. Now, while it is true that this is not entirely an obsession, it has also been pointed out to me that I have a slight tendency to get enthusiastic about things to the point of obsession. Now I do not necessarily consider this a bad thing; admittedly, in a work situation it can lead to control freak tendencies, but in general life it leads to having a wide range of interesting hobbies about which I am passionate (not obsessive). So today’s photo represents hobbies (and obsessions):

This was taken at the Great Dorset Steam Fair, where there were a great many amazingly restored and cherished steam engines, many of which have been the focus of people’s obsessions for a lot of years. In all honestly the photo I chose for today was relatively immaterial as any I chose could have represented my main obsession which is photography, and a lot of the themes and subjects I chose to photograph are also obsessions but I am not going to revisit them here. I do however want to talk about hobbies and interests.

I, as I have already mentioned have a fair few hobbies, I am married to a man with a variety of hobbies which often lead to him spending a large amount of time in a workshop underneath some sort of vehicle or at a machine making something for said vehicle. I have friends who all have more hobbies than you could safely shake a stick at without hitting some sort of new invention / home-made item / cake / photograph! Now I feel I may be going round the houses somewhat, but my point is that having interests makes for interesting people. I don’t mind what you are interested in, as long as you are interested in something!

This life is the only one we get, fill as much of it as you can with hobbies and friends and fun!

Incidentally…I am still wearing 2 watches…but one of them is a different one!

Leave a Reply

