Forty Three

Originally posted 28th March 2011

I was asked last week if I ever had any spare time. I found this quite an odd question to answer, especially as I had been describing all the things I had done over the weekend and what I was planning to do in the evenings that week. I was under the impression that I had been describing the things I was doing in my spare time. Last weekend, I visited friends and we spent the saturday setting up some photoshoots and generally taking pictures I then spent the sunday decorating a cake for another friend’s birthday. Cue pictures 1 and 2…

This was one of the photos I took during the photoshoot weekend, due to a lack of models I opted to photograph flowers, almost as much of a departure from the norm for me as photographing people.

This is a picture of the cake I spent the sunday after the photo day decorating. I must point out here that this decoration owed a lot to the sound desk expertise provided by Dez and the assistance with icing provided by Jen!

The evenings in the week after this I spent making cogs out of chocolate and baking and decorating a second cake for the same friend’s birthday, cue picture 3:

Second birthday cake, with a steampunk theme and solid chocolate cogs sprayed gold (cog moulds courtesy of Mike).

If you add to this the fact that in between all of this I am studying with the OU and I also try to find time to do sewing and knitting and of course blogging, maybe you can begin to see why I was asked if I have any spare time. It also brings me to my point…which is how do you define spare time? To me spare time is any time I spend doing something that I choose to do, to me this means any time when I am not in work. It is only rarely that I remember that other people may have different definitions of this concept. Do some people only consider spare time to be that when they do nothing apart from perhaps sit and maybe watch tv? Is it still spare time if you are busy? I think it is and I am of the opinion that it is better to spend you time wisely and fill it with as many experiences as you can. After all another definition of spare is leftover, and as far as I can tell, unlike spare money any leftover time cannot be saved up until later. It is better to use it now than wish you had more left at the end!

 

It also occurs to me that maybe my second watch is to measure my spare time…

Leave a Reply

