Forty Two

Originally posted on 25th March 2011

I was thinking about what to write in this blog post, then when I wrote the title it all became so clear… and after all there has to, in any blog be a post about the meaning of life! For those of you who have no idea why the title of this post lead me instantly to pondering the meaning of life, may i point you in the direction of the book, Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. I do recommend reading the book, not just watching the film! It is an excellent book and has some very convincing ideas about how to fly…simply throw yourself at the ground..and miss!

How could I possibly choose any other photo for today’s offering!

The book states that the meaning of life is 42 but what is the question? Well to be honest, I am not sure of the question and I am not sure what the meaning of life is either, I am not even sure that it has one. To seek the meaning of life after all smacks of ‘higher purposes’ and “grand plans” and other such”‘fate is written and my life is out of my control” thinking; I may not know the “meaning” but I am at least fairly sure in my belief that my what happens in my life is (for the most part) under my control. It is my choice to do what i do and it is my responsibility to take ownership of those choices, good and bad!

The other thing I do know is that what ever we do and whatever we think of the meaning of life, we need to live it. I quote here another media reference (a possible prize to those who can place it) “the hardest thing in this world…it to live in it” although it sounds a little morbid, it is not far from the truth as I ee it. It is the easiest thing in the world to sit back and lose hours doing nothing, to waste time and waste life. Take all the time you have and live every moment of it, do every thing because it is something you want to do not just because it is something to kill time! By the way by “something you want to do” I don’t mean live selfishly and only to please yourself, something you want to do can just as easily be something you want to do because you know it is important to someone else!

At the end of all of this, you may not find a “grand plan” blady blah meaning of life, but you might just have had some interesting and valuable life experiences and you may even have found something that you really like doing and you can do well…that at least helps on the meaning front!

Also wear as many watches as you like…it is your life and your wrist!

Leave a Reply

