Thirty Two: Concerning eclectic architecture and not crashing your car

Originally posted 5th March 2011

This week has been the first week in my new job (I think I mentioned it!) it has been a good week and I am going to like it. I am adapting to a new working atmosphere and I seem to be working with some nice people, although I still miss the people at my last work. This, however, it not directly what I wanted to talk about, I have been thinking about my new commute. I have also been thinking on my new commute as it has been anything between 1 and 2 hours! What I have been thinking about is architecture, I now drive right through the centre of 2 towns and across a common in the surrey hills and there is a vast amount of variation in the architecture I see. This variety is something i have always been aware of, I was taught early in my life to not only look directly in front of you but to look up in a town, there are often some interesting things to see at 1st floor height and above! It was relatively easy to choose some photos for today as I have always had a bit of a thing for buildings:

Both of these pictures were taken in London, they serve very well to illustrate my point, which is we live in a country with extremely varied architectural styles. It pays to look a little more closely at buildings around us, although essentially they are there to keep the weather off the contents, if you look at them, really look at them they are so much more. They are an art form in themselves, they are an expression of the style and values of the time they were built! This is evident not only in the style and decoration of the building, but also in the placement. I noticed more buildings fitting into a space on friday than I previously thought possible, there were grand Georgian and Victorian buildings peeping in between modern ones and over the top of much older shorter styles. It is fascinating to look at. This is all in stark contrast the country villages not even a mile away with the small (and large) stone cottages and churches.

Next time you are stuck in traffic, or (probably safer) walking through a town or village, just have a look around, see the beauty in the buildings and consider for a moment how and why they are the way they are.

Leave a Reply

